How Does the Restore Feature (Create Copy / Append / Overwrite / Skip) work?

Michael Tawil
Michael Tawil
  • Updated

Please use the below summary for a quick reference about the four restoration options:

  • Create Copy (Default)
    • Restore files as a duplicate of the existing ones.
  • Append
    • Restore files by adding a new version of the existing ones
  • Overwrite
    • Replace existing files with the Restored ones.
  • Skip
    • Skip restore for any files that already exist.

The four options in restore define how the restore process handles the conflict (Same File Name but different ID).

For example, if there is a file named "Project.txt" with ID "ABC," we must restore; while performing the restore, the system finds a file with the same name, "Project.txt," with a different ID "XYZ" in OneDrive on the M365 side.

  • Create Copy (Default)
    • If this option is selected, then the restore process will rename the file on the M365 side and restore it as a new file.
  • Append
    • If this option is selected, it will add a new version to the file with the same name.
  • Overwrite
    • If this option is selected, then the restore process will replace the existing file on the M365 side with the new file. All previous versions are removed, and the ID is changed.
  • Skip
    • If this option is selected, the file selected for restore won't get restored while conflict occurs.

If there is no conflict, then the restore process will work the same across all four options.

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful

Have more questions? Submit a request