Setting Up a New Security Role in Connectwise or Autotask

William Shannon
William Shannon
  • Updated

This article will walk you through setting up a custom role for use with Dropsuite's integration with ConnectWise or Autotask.  This is intended to be used in conjunction with our PSA Integration Marketplace guide.

ConnectWise

  1. Launch ConnectWise URL.

  2. Log in with valid credentials.

  3. Navigate to System, then Security Roles.


  4. Click on New Item (+ icon).

  5. Enter the Role ID and save it.

  6. Specify the required roles and permissions as follows, then click Save:
    • Companies > Company Maintenance: Add, Inquire

    • Companies > Configurations: Add, Edit, Inquire

    • Finance > Agreements: Add, Edit, Delete, Inquire

    • Procurement > Product Catalog: Add, Edit, Inquire

    • Project > Project Tickets: Add, Edit, Inquire

    • Project > Project Tickets - Dependencies: Add, Edit, Inquire

    • Project > Close Project Tickets: Add, Edit, Inquire

    • Service Desk > Service Tickets > Add, Edit, Inquire

    • Service Desk > Service Tickets - Finance > Add, Edit, Inquire

    • Service Desk > Service Tickets - Dependencies > Add, Edit, Inquire

    • Service Desk > Close Service Tickets > Add, Edit, Inquire

    • System > Table Setup > Add, Edit, Inquire

    • System > Custom Menu Entry > Add, Edit, Delete, Inquire

 

Autotask

  1. Launch Autotask URL.

  2. Log in with valid credentials.

  3. Navigate to Admin, then Company Settings & Users.


  4. Expand Resources/Users (HR) and select Security Levels.


  5. To create a new security level, right-click on the API User (system) (API-only) security level and choose the Copy option.


  6. Enter a name for the new security level and select the Active checkbox.


  7. Set permissions for the API user as follows
    • Contracts
      • Object Permissions:
        • View - All
        • Add - Yes
        • Contract Visibility (for contracts you have access to) - Full


    • CRM
      • Click on the No Permission link and set the following permissions individually:
        • Company & Contact Access - All
        • Customer & Cancellation - All
        • Vendor & Partners - All
        • Prospects, Leads, & Dead - None
        • Companies: Add - Yes, Edit - All, Delete - All; Rest all fields as None


    • Inventory: Click on the No Permission link.

    • Projects: Click on the No Permission link.

    • Service Desk
      • Click on the No Permission link and then set the following permissions individually:
        • Object Permissions (Tickets)
          • View - All
          • Add - Yes
          • Edit - Yes
          • Delete - All


    • Documents & Knowledge base: Click on the No Permission link.

    • Timesheets: Click on the No Permission link.

    • Reports: Click on the No Permission link.

    • Admin
      • Click on the No Permission link and then set the following permissions only by checking the checkbox for
        • Resources/Users
        • Products, Services, & Inventory


  8. Once all the permissions are configured, click on Save & Close.

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful

Have more questions? Submit a request