Google Workspace Backup and Archiving Guide

Kaitlyn Johnson
Kaitlyn Johnson
  • Updated

This article describes the process and steps to add Google Workspace mailboxes to Dropsuite backup.

Authentication

  1. Login to the end user dashboard
  2. Click Add Backup
    1. Use Google Workspace Admin credentials
      1. Select Sign in with Google Workspace button from the dashboard page
      2. Select the Google Sign Out button as shown. This will log you out of all active Google Workspace sessions in your browser. Please ensure that cookies are enabled for the browser, if they are not, you will need to retry and sign in again.
      3. Sign in to your Google Workspace account using your global admin credentials from your Google Workspace subscription.
      4. If this is successful, you will then need to install the Dropsuite application on your Google Workspace Marketplace
        1. https://admin.google.com/ac/apps/gmail/marketplace/domaininstall
      5. Click on Integrate with Google
      6. Click Continue
      7. Select the I agree to the application's Terms of Service, Privacy Policy, and G Suite Marketplace Terms of Service.
      8. Once this has successfully completed, you can close the window and navigate back to the "Add Backup" page in Dropsuite.

Add all users automatically by using Auto-discover

If you select this option, we all automatically add all the users to the backup. In the future, if more users are added to your GWS tenant, we will add them to the backup if sufficient licenses are available.

You can add users to the exclusion list if you don't want them to be included in the Auto-discover process by enabling Auto-discover and adding the mailboxes to the "Select Excluded Account" dropdown.

Add Manually

To add mailboxes to the backup manually, wait for the list to populate and click the empty box next to the user email. If the user shows "available," it can be added to the backup. You can also click the three dots next to "available" and add the mailbox to the exclusion list.

 

Journal Configuration (for archive subscription only)

Configure Archive for All Users - Setup Sending and Receiving Routing Settings

  1. Sign into the Google Workspace Admin console by using an administrator account (https://admin.google.com)
  2. On the Main Menu, click Apps > Google Workspace > Gmail
  3. Click Routing
  4. Select an organization. This is optional only if there are multiple organizations or units
  5. To add a new rule, click Add Another Rule
  6. Enter a short description for the journaling setup
  7. Tick all four checkboxes on the Email Messages to Affect's section
  8. Check Add more recipients in the Also deliver to's setting and click Add
  9. Select Advanced and on the Envelope Recipient's section, check Change Envelope Recipient > Replace recipient and input an email address that is retrieved by contacting your reseller or by clicking the arrow beside your name and selecting Journal ID
  10. Check Do not deliver spam to this recipient if you do not want to capture spam emails
  11. Check Suppress bounces from this recipient
  12. Check Add custom headers, click Add and input DME-JOURNAL-REPORT as key and true as value. Click Save.

Configure Selective Archiving (set of selected users)

The difference between this and the previous step is on the user. Since this is using Google groups, a Google group must be created with selected users for archiving first. Then, set up sending and receiving routing rules separately by specifying this group in the filter section. It’s not compulsory to add all the users to the group by the time of its creation. Users of the group can be updated anytime according to the requirement.

Create a Google Workspace Group

  1. Sign in to the Google Admin console at https://admin.google.com
  2. Choose Groups from the Admin dashboard
  3. Click Create Group
  4. Enter a name and group email address of your choosing, fill out other fields as required, and click NEXT
  5. By default, Mailing is ticked as the label of the new group. However, if you want to have more control access to sensitive information, you can tick the Security's label (note: once ticked, you won't be able to untick)
  6. Configure the settings as required or keep defaults and click the CREATE GROUP button
  7. Click Done

Add Members to the Google Workspace Group

  1. Choose Groups from the Admin dashboard
  2. Select the group you've created
  3. Click Add Members 
  4. Type a username or group
  5. Click ADD TO GROUP

Setup Receiving Routing Settings

  1. Sign in to the Google Admin console at https://admin.google.com
  2. On the main menu, click Apps > Google Workspace > Gmail
  3. Click Routing
  4. (Optional) Select Organizational Unit (OU) to filter routing based on OU
  5. Choose one of the Routings that has been setup before. If you haven't setup routing before, please refer to How to Setup Journaling on Google Workspace for all users and then continue
  6. Click Edit
  7. Click Show options > Envelope filters
  8. Check Only affect specific envelope recipients  and select Group Membership (only received email)
  9. Click Select Groups and a pop up will appear
  10. Choose the group(s) that will receive the message
  11. Close the popup
  12. Click Save

Setup Sending Routing Settings

  1. Sign in to the Google Admin console at https://admin.google.com
  2. On the main menu, click Apps > Google Workspace > Gmail
  3. Click Routing
  4. (Optional) Select an Organizational Unit (OU) to filter routing based on the OU
  5. Choose one of the Routings that has been set up before. If you haven't set routing before, please refer to How to Setup Journaling on Google Workspace for all users and then continue
     
  6. Click Edit
  7. Click Show options > Envelope Filters
  8. Check Only affect specific envelope recipients  and select Group Membership (only sent mail)
     
     
  9. Click Select Groups and a popup will appear
  10. Choose the group(s) that will receive the message
  11. Close the popup
  12. Click Save

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful