Connecting to Autotask

William Shannon
William Shannon
  • Updated

In this article, you'll find the following guides for connecting with Autotask:

  1. Complete Partner Setup in Autotask
  2. Connect to Autotask on Dropsuite Partner Portal
  3. Create a New Plan with Autotask Integration
  4. Edit Existing Plans Mapped with Autotask Integration
  5. Create a New Organization Synced with Autotask
  6. Edit an Existing Organization and Map with Autotask
  7. Set Up a New Security Role in Autotask
  8. Revoke Autotask Integration

Complete Partner Setup in Autotask

  1. Launch Autotask URL.

  2. Log in using valid credentials.

  3. Navigate to Admin, then Company Settings & Users.


  4. Expand Resources/Users (HR) and click on Resources/Users.


  5. Click on New API User.


  6. Fill in all mandatory information in the General Section, selecting an appropriate Security Level.  For guidance on creating a new Role, refer to the Setting Up a New Security Role in Autotask documentation.

  7. Click Generate Key and Generate Secret.  Save both the Key and Secret for later use during integration on Dropsuite's Partner Portal

  8. Select "Dropsuite - Cloud Backup" as the Integration Vendor

  9. Click on Save and Close.

Connect to Autotask on Dropsuite's Partner Portal

  1. Log in to the Partner Portal. Click the Integration menu on the left navigation bar, marked with the plugged-in icon.
    The Integration menu is available for all types of partners: distributor, direct reseller, and sub-reseller.

  2. Click the Connect button on the Autotask card.


  3. Input the previously generated Key and Secret into the respective fields, then click the Next Step button.

  4. Upon successful connection, you are officially connected to Autotask. The system will display a success banner and redirect you to the ticket mapping form. Complete the form by selecting the suitable options, then click Next Step. All fields are required, so ensure none are left blank.
    You can skip this step and continue with the ticket mapping later.

    When you return to the Integration page, you will find a Connected badge next to Autotask.

  5. Upon successful ticket mapping, the system shows a banner with a completed ticket mapping setup. You can continue to do plan and organization mapping.


  6. If you click the Revoke All Ticket Mapping button, it will only reset the ticket mapping form. Your Autotask connection won't be affected.

Create a New Plan with Autotask Integration

This step is intended for distributors and direct resellers only, as sub-resellers cannot access the plan page.

  1. Click the Manage button to map the plan. You'll be redirected to the Integration page for mapping.

  2. Select Service from the available options, then click Connect (blue icon).

    After successfully mapping the plan, you will notice a green checkmark indicating success, and the Unlink button will appear.

  3. Upon returning to the plan page, click on the Menu button and select View Integration. You will now see the Synced badge indicating that the plan is synchronized with the integration.

 

Edit Existing Plans Mapped with Autotask Integration

Please note that this step is intended for distributors and direct resellers only, as sub-resellers cannot access the plan page.

  1. Click the Menu button, then select View Integration.

  2. A popup will appear. Click Manage to proceed with mapping the plan with ConnectWise.

  3. You will be redirected to the Integration page. Please continue to select Service and proceed until it is successfully synced.

Create a New Organization Connected Through Autotask Integration

  1. Select the plan that is synced with the Autotask integration.


  2. Upon successful organization creation, a new pop-up will appear for mapping requirements. Click the Manage button to redirect you to the Integration page.

  3. Select Company, Contract, and Contract Service, then click Connect (blue icon).


  4. Upon successful organization mapping, a green checkmark will appear, and the Unlink button will be displayed.

 

Edit an Existing Organization and Map with Autotask

  1. Go to the Integration page, click on Option, then select Manage Connection.

  2. Click on Organization Mapping, find the organization you want to edit, select Company, Contract, and Contract Service, then click Connect (blue icon).
    Once successful, the system will display a green check and the Unlink button.

Set Up a New Security Role in Autotask

  1. Launch Autotask URL.

  2. Log in with valid credentials.

  3. Navigate to Admin, then Company Settings & Users.


  4. Expand Resources/Users (HR) and select Security Levels.


  5. To create a new security level, right-click on the API User (system) (API-only) security level and choose the Copy option.


  6. Enter a name for the new security level and select the Active checkbox.


  7. Set permissions for the API user as follows 
      • Contracts
        • Object Permissions:
          • View - All
          • Add - Yes
          • Contract Visibility (for contracts you have access to) - Full


      • CRM
        • Click on the No Permission link and set the following permissions individually:
          • Company & Contact Access - All
          • Customer & Cancellation - All
          • Vendor & Partners - All
          • Prospects, Leads, & Dead - None
          • Companies: Add - Yes, Edit - All, Delete - All; Rest all fields as None


      • Inventory: Click on the No Permission link.

      • Projects: Click on the No Permission link.

      • Service Desk
        • Click on the No Permission link and then set the following permissions individually:
          • Object Permissions (Tickets)
            • View - All
            • Add - Yes
            • Edit - Yes
            • Delete - All


      • Documents & Knowledge base: Click on the No Permission link.

      • Timesheets: Click on the No Permission link.

      • Reports: Click on the No Permission link.

      • Admin
        • Click on the No Permission link and then set the following permissions only by checking the checkbox for
          • Resources/Users
          • Products, Services, & Inventory


    • Once all the permissions are configured, click on Save & Close.

 

Revoke Autotask Integration

  1. Log in to Dropsuite Partner Portal.
  2. Navigate to the Integration page.
  3. Select Option then Revoke Autotask on the Autotask card.
  4. The system will display the same page with the Connect button active after revoking has been successful.

  5.  

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful

Have more questions? Submit a request