Autodiscover for SharePoint

william
william
  • Updated

Topic

This article explains how autodiscover for Microsoft SharePoint works in NinjaOne SaaS Backup.

Environment

  • NinjaOne SaaS Backup
  • Microsoft SharePoint

Description

The SharePoint backup method in NinjaOne SaaS Backup is straightforward. You add your mailboxes to the backup, and NinjaOne SaaS Backup initiates the SharePoint backup seamlessly.

We offer a flexible approach to backing up SharePoint. NinjaOne SaaS Backup has an AutoDiscover toggle that lets you choose whether to enable it. Additionally, you can exclude SharePoint from backups if needed.

Key Highlights

  • Ease of Use: The SharePoint AutoDiscover toggle automates the identification of new sites, reducing the need for manual additions.
  • Enhanced User Control: You can deactivate SharePoint AutoDiscover for granular backup control.
  • Customization: The SharePoint backup exclusion feature lets you specify what should not be included in the backup.

Adding a New M365 Backup

Adding a new Microsoft 365 (M365) backup is the first step in integrating your mail tenant with NinjaOne SaaS Backup servers and is also known as an initial backup. You will now find an additional step, AutoDiscover Setting, when you add an M365 backup. There are two methods for M365 backup: Global Admin or Service Principal.

1.png

Figure 1: AutoDiscover Setting (click to enlarge)

The AutoDiscover Setting includes two features for M365 backup: AutoDiscover and SharePoint Site backup exclusion. These features are independent, so you can exclude SharePoint Sites without enabling AutoDiscover.

Managing a Backed-up M365 Tenant

Users who have already backed up their M365 tenant will find an additional Sites tab. This tab includes the AutoDiscover toggle, which allows for deeper exploration of the feature.

Enabling SharePoint AutoDiscover

To enable SharePoint AutoDiscover, which automatically detects and adds new sites to the backup, follow these steps:

During M365 Authentication:

  • Locate and select the AutoDiscover toggle (as shown under the Adding a New M365 Backup section above.

You can also enable AutoDiscover from the M365 Backup list page, To do so, follow these steps:

  1. Locate and turn on the AutoDiscover toggle.

    2.png

    Figure 2: Add to Backup (click to enlarge)

     

  2. Confirm by clicking the Continue button in the pop-up confirmation.

    3.png

    Figure 3: Enable AutoDiscover (click to enlarge)

Disabling SharePoint AutoDiscover

Disabling SharePoint AutoDiscover means you will manually add specific sites to the backup. To do so, follow these steps:

  1. Log in to the End-User Portal.
  2. Click +Add Backup.
  3. Select the backed-up tenant.
  4. Switch off AutoDiscover.
  5. In the confirmation dialog, click OK 

Excluding SharePoint Sites

This process excludes specific sites from being identified by AutoDiscover and automatically added to the backup.

During Initial Setup:

  1. In AutoDiscover Setting (labeled as step 4), next to Exclude Sites, click Edit.

    4.png

    Figure 4: Exclude Sites (click to enlarge)
    The SharePoint exclusion and AutoDiscover features are independent. You can exclude SharePoint sites without enabling AutoDiscover.
  2. Select which sites to exclude from the backup.
  3. Click Exclude.

    5.png

    Figure 5: Exclude SharePoint Sites (click to enlarge)
  4. Click Finish Setup.

For Existing Backups with AutoDiscover Enabled:

  1. Click the Click here to exclude site button on the M365 tenant page.

    6.png

    Figure 6: Exclude sites (click to enlarge)
  2. Select the sites to exclude and click the Exclude button.
  3. Click the Finish Setup button.

Frequently-Asked Questions (FAQ)

I got an "Add a Licensed Account First" warning after finishing the M365 Authorization setup. What does this message mean?

7.png

Figure 7: Add a Licensed Account (click to enlarge)

If you receive a warning after completing the M365 Authorization setup, it means you haven't added an email account yet. Add at least one email account to proceed with backing up the site.

Can I re-add the excluded Site to the backup system? Yes. To re-add an excluded site to the backup system:

  1. Go to the Add Backup page.
  2. Click the backed-up tenant.
  3. Click the SharePoint tab.
  4. Click the link showing the number of excluded SharePoint sites.
  5. Select the site to re-add and click the Add to backup button.|

    8.png

    Figure 8: Re-assing excluded sites (click to enlarge)

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 1 found this helpful

Have more questions? Submit a request