Topic
This article explains how AutoDiscover for shared drives works in NinjaOne SaaS Backup.
Environment
NinjaOne SaaS Backup
Description
NinjaOne SaaS Backup’s enhanced AutoDiscover functionality for Shared Drive backup offers improved control and flexibility for Google Workspace users. AutoDiscover can automatically identify and incorporate any new Shared Drives created in the source and add them to the backup process. You can also deactivate AutoDiscover to gain precise control over which Shared Drives are included in the backup.
This article provides comprehensive, step-by-step instructions for activating and deactivating the Shared Drive AutoDiscover feature.
Key Capabilities
- Automatically identify and include all Shared Drives in the backup when adding a new Google Workspace backup.
- Manually select specific Shared Drives to include in the backup for those who prefer a more hands-on approach.
- Exclude specific Shared Drives from AutoDiscover to ensure that only the necessary drives are included.
Getting Started
Adding a new Google Workspace backup
Initiating a new Google Workspace backup is the first step in integrating the email server with our DME server. Users will now encounter an additional step, “AutoDiscover Setting,” when initiating a Google Workspace backup, giving them greater control over the setup process.
The AutoDiscover Setting is inactive by default but can be accessed after a successful login using the Google Workspace administrator email.
Within the Autodiscover settings, users will find two additional features that support Google Workspace backup: Autodiscover and Shared Drive backup exclusion. These features operate independently, allowing users to exclude Shared Drives without enabling AutoDiscover
Existing Google Workspace backup
Users who have already backed up their Google Workspace email will find an additional Shared Drive tab with configuration activated in the Google Workspace list.
Enabling Shared Drive AutoDiscover
When you activate Shared Drive AutoDiscover, NinjaOne SaaS Backup will automatically identify new shared drives and include them in the backup process. If you prefer, you can choose to deactivate this feature. Follow these steps to enable Shared Drive AutoDiscover:
1. Select the Auto Discover toggle. You can find it in two different locations:
- Google Workspace Authentication
- Or navigate to the Add Backup page, select the Shared Drive tab, then select the AutoDiscover toggle.
2. Click the Yes, Continue on the confirmation dialog.
Disabling Shared Drive AutoDiscover
Disabling active AutoDiscover means you will add only a specific Shared Drive to the backup. Follow these steps to deactivate the AutoDiscover for Shared Drives.
- Log in to the End-User Portal.
- Click the +Add Backup button.
-
Click the backed-up tenant.
Figure 7: Add Backup (click to enlarge) -
Switch off the Autodiscover toggle.
Figure 8: AutoDiscover setting (click to enlarge) -
Click the Yes, Continue button in the confirmation dialog.
Figure 9: Disable AutoDiscover (click to enlarge)
Excluding Shared Drives from backup
This process excludes specific Shared Drives from being identified by Autodiscover and automatically added to the backup. When you add a Google Workspace tenant to the backup for the first time, you will find Shared Drive exclusion as part of Autodiscover settings (refer to the image below).
Note that Shared Drive exclusion and Autodiscover are independent of each other. You can exclude Shared Drives without enabling Autodiscover.
NinjaOne SaaS Backup will display a dialog. Select the Shared Drives you wish to exclude from the Autodiscover backup, then click Exclude.
NinjaOne SaaS Backup will redirect you back to the Google Workspace Authentication page. Click Finish Setup.
If Autodiscover is already activated and you need to exclude a Shared Drive, click Click here to exclude Shared Drives on the Google Workspace list page.
Shared Drive Backup
A Shared Drive must have at least one member with Manager or Content Manager access for NinjaOne SaaS Backup to back up its contents.
To ensure that Shared Drives without either role are still backed up, the system temporarily grants the backup admin account Manager access. Access is removed after the backup completes, and all other drive roles remain unchanged.
Admins can review or update member roles directly in the Shared Drive or through the Google Workspace Admin console. The Admin console also allows you to filter for Shared Drives with no members or no managers. For more information about removing members or updating their roles, see Manage shared drives as an admin (external link).
FAQs
Does the Shared Drive AutoDiscover Setting affect the mailbox AutoDiscover? No, they are separate features. There are two distinct AutoDiscover settings: one for Shared Drives and another for Mailboxes.
Does excluding a Shared Drive affect the existing active AutoDiscover? No, excluding a Shared Drive does not impact the active AutoDiscover for other Shared Drives. The exclusion only applies to the specific Shared Drives listed in the exclusion form. Can I re-add an excluded Shared Drive to the backup system? Yes, you can re-add excluded Shared Drives using the remove-exclusion feature. To do this:
- Click the backed-up tenant on the Add Backup page.
- Click the Shared Drive tab.
- Click the link showing the number of excluded Shared Drives.
- Select the excluded Shared Drive you wish to re-add, then click Add to Backup.
What does the Remove from exclusion button do? This button allows you to reverse the exclusion of a Shared Drive, effectively adding it back to the AutoDiscover process. You will find this button when first adding a Google Workspace tenant to the backup.